L’italiano Luigi Lamonica designato per le Final Four di Berlino

    Con questo comunicato stampa l’Eurolega ha comunicato ieri la designazione dei 7 fischietti che arbitreranno le finali che si disputeranno dal 13 al 15 maggio a Berlino.

    Euroleague Basketball has chosen seven of its top referees from as many countries to officiate the games at the upcoming 2016 Turkish Airlines Euroleague Final Four in Berlin, Germany from May 13 to 15.

    Gli arbitri designanti per le Final Four di Berlino
    Gli arbitri designanti per le Final Four di Berlino

    The group in Berlin will include Christos Christodoulou from Greece, Damir Javor of Slovenia, Luigi Lamonica from Italy, Olegs Latisevs from Latvia, Robert Lottermoser from Germany, Piotr Pastusiak of Poland, and Borys Ryzhyk from Ukraine. Four of them – Christodoulou, Latisevs, Lottermoser and Ryzhyk have overseen last season’s Final Four in Madrid.

    Five of the referees have worked at a minimum four previous Final Fours each, while two will be officiating at the pinnacle event of European basketball for the first time, reinforcing Euroleague Basketball’s commitment in developing the skills and experience of officials for the top level of the sport. The combined experience of all seven going to Berlin is 23 previous Final Fours, including seven championship games.

    Lamonica has worked at five previous Final Fours, including the first this century, back in 2002. Berlin is also sixth overall Final Four for Ryzhyk, who officiated the championship game last season. Lottermoser, who will be working his sixth consecutive tournament to determine a continental champion, will be the only German participant on the court in Berlin. Christodoulou and Latisevs will be in their fifth Final Four each, Javor and Pastusiak will be officiating at the season-end event for the first time.

    All seven referees headed to Berlin worked the last FIBA World Cup in 2014. Six have been announced as Olympic Games referees for Rio 2016 and five have officiated at a combined seven previous Olympic Games.


    Latest articles

    Related articles